© KSNG 2002-2014

United Nations Group of Experts

on Geographical Names (UNGEGN)


Poland's contribution to the work of UNGEGN

Poland participates in the work of and implements recommendations of the UN in the standardisation of geographical names from the very incept of international cooperation in that field. Poland belongs to regional division of UNGEGN – East Central and South-East Europe Division, in which Albania, Bosnia and Hercegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Georgia, Greece, Hungary, Montenegro, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Macedonia, Turkey and Ukraine also participate.

Mapa sekcji regionalnej

Poland acted as the coordinator of the East Central and South-East Europe Division between 1977 ad 1982, organising its various meetings.

Since 2012 Poland belongs also to the Baltic Division, in which Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania and Russia also participate.
Poland also has observer status in the Eastern Europe, Northern and Central Asia Division.